CHAPTER III.—CONSTITUTION AND GOVERNMENT

CONSPECTUS

	PAGE		PAGE
Part I.—The Constitution and General Government of Canada		Subsection 5. Quebec Subsection 6. Ontario	121 123
		Subsection 7. Manitoba	125
SECTION 1. THE EVOLUTION OF THE			
CONSTITUTION PRIOR TO CONFED-		Subsection 8. Saskatchewan	126
ERATION	84	Subsection 9. Alberta	127
SECTION 2. THE DEVELOPMENT OF THE		Subsection 10. British Columbia Subsection 11. Yukon and the North-	129
CONSTITUTION SINCE CONFEDERA-		west Territories	130
TION.	84	SECTION 3. MUNICIPAL GOVERNMENT.	130
SECTION 3. THE CONSTITUTIONAL DE- VELOPMENT OF NEWFOUNDLAND PRIOR TO UNION WITH CANADA, 1949		SECTION 4. FEDERAL-PROVINCIAL RE- LATIONS	134
	85	Part III.—Canada's External Relations	
Part II.—Organization		SECTION 1. CANADA'S GROWTH IN EX-	
SECTION 1. The FEDERAL GOVERNMENT.	93	TERNAL STATUS	134
Subsection 1. The Executive	93 96	SECTION 2. CANADA AND THE UNITED NATIONS, 1948	134
Subsection 2. The Legislature		INATIONS, 1940	194
Subsection 3. The Judiciary	107	Part IV.—Diplomatic Representation	
SECTION 2. PROVINCIAL GOVERNMENTS.	115		
Subsection 1. Newfoundland	117	SECTION 1. REPRESENTATIVES OF CAN-	
Subsection 2. Prince Edward Island.	118	ADA IN OTHER COUNTRIES	139
Subsection 3. Nova Scotia	119	SECTION 2. REPRESENTATIVES OF OTHER	
Subsection 4. New Brunswick	120	COUNTRIES IN CANADA	143

Note.—The interpretation of the symbols used in the tables throughout the Year Book will be found facing p. 1 of this volume. Appointments made after this Chapter went to press are given in the Annual Register at the end of this volume.

The government of Canada is provided for by the British North America Act (30-31 Vict., c. 3) of 1867.* This Statute of the Imperial Parliament, as from time to time amended, forms the written basis of the constitution of Canada. Subsequent sections of this Chapter describe the processes by which the constitution has developed and the institutions, as at present constituted, by which Canada is governed.

The several stages in the development of the status of the Dominion have been authoritatively described in the reports of successive Imperial Conferences including that held at London in 1926, which defined the group of self-governing communities consisting of the United Kingdom and the Dominions as "autonomous communities within the British Empire, equal in status, in no way subordinate one to another in any aspect of their domestic or foreign affairs, though united by a common allegiance to the Crown and freely associated as members of the British Commonwealth of Nations". That Conference also recognized that, as a consequence of this equality of status, the Governor General of a Dominion "is the representative of the Crown, holding in all essential respects the same position in relation to the administration of public affairs in the Dominion as is held by His Majesty the King in Great Britain", and that "it is the right of the Government of each Dominion to advise the Crown in all matters relating to its own affairs". Simultaneously, with this change in the constitutional relationship between the several parts of the British Commonwealth of Nations, there developed, as a complementary aspect of nationhood, the assumption by the several Dominions of further responsibilities and rights of sovereign States in their relations with other members of the community of nations. Membership in the League of Nations and, more recently in the United

^{*} See pp. 40-60 of the 1942 Year Book for text of the original B.N.A. Act and notes regarding amendments and modifications thereto.